The Lows of High School

Raise your hand if you never did anything dumb in high school. Please note that my hand will not be going up, here. Mitt Romney, you are in good company, so to speak.

I have to admit that I was jealous of the “in crowd.” I never was a part of it. That was so important, way back in the Dinosaur Age, but now I can recall the folly of that immature thinking. Yes, I have quoted my mother/grandmother, etc., to my own children, “If all your classmates jumped off the (insert your local river) bridge, would you have to jump too?” How do we survive high school?

I also ashamedly have to admit that I would make fun of the “dumb” kids (as deemed by me). The universal high school pecking order reared its ugly head. The most shaming thing is that I felt the hot stings of the “popular” girls and the “tough” girls, alike. I knew how it felt to be ridiculed and ostracized. Yet, I did my part to keep the clique wheel turning. Another Mom-ism verified:  “When you point one finger at someone, three others are pointing back at you.”

If only the ridiculing stopped after high school! Instead, it continues every day in society. Rich vs poor; educated vs non-educated; cool crowd vs nerds; color vs opposite color; religion vs other religion; the “right” political party vs the “wrong” political party. All of us playing our own little, stupid, heretical version of God. As though we were smarter than the Almighty.

How does He tolerate us? Why has He not wiped us off the face of the earth? It is what we deserve, after all.

Could it be that in the great Love vs Hate controversy, it really is Love that wins? Maybe not immediately. Maybe not all at once. Not superficially. Not for a few minutes, only. Not temporarily. But by His example. And we should be ashamed…of ourselves.

God help those who are bullied. And especially help those, like me, who however unwittingly (at the time), pass it along. Open our eyes and our hearts. Peace to those who will feel the stings of hate, today.

What the world needs now,  

Is love, sweet love,  

It’s the only thing that there’s just too little of.  

What the world needs now,  Is love, sweet love,  

No, not just for some but for everyone.

Hal David/Burt Bacharach

~ by saginawrobin on May 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
