New Year! :) Same Old Me? :(

Social Media gets me into trouble! Seriously – I am totally innocent on my own! Now, if you believe that, I have some nice rental property in Florida…

It’s two-thousand-fourteen Anno Domini! I recall when I was in high school, trying really, terribly, hard to imagine living long enough to see 2000 – when I would be an ancient 40 years old! Now I’ve just told you how to figure my age. Ugh! See what I mean? Bad keyboard! The entire World of Media is against me!

Each of us, including me and even you, had the gift of a clean slate at 12:00 a.m. on January 1. Even this early in the game, what am I writing on my slate? What are my choices? Insert your own versions of my gears grinding, motors whirring, cuckoos calling…?!

Love vs Hate:  Try to beautify it in any crazy way I choose, but a rose is a rose and a skunk just is…not.

Tolerance vs Intolerance:  Must I insist you become like me to be ‘worthy’? I have the sneaking feeling Creator does not think so and I give Him far too many reasons to frown and be unhappy.

Forgiveness vs Vengeance:  Sometimes I try to disguise vengeance as comeuppance or deservedness. Again, Creator God knows the difference – and knows that I know it, too. Basically, He cuts me no slack on these issues He has been working on with me for 5+ decades. He seems singularly unimpressed with the “they asked for it” attitude.

Grace vs Condemnation:  The choice He consistently chooses to make toward me definitely is Grace (and I must admit that I don’t own Him or His choices to extend His Grace to whom He chooses).  Condemnation? That’s that other guy…sometimes referred to as The Accuser. The LORD God says He will repay. When I have settled down and am quiet enough to hear His faithful Voice, He whispers, “Shall I repay you the same way you wish me to repay others?” Grace is His choice for His chosen. He needs no permission, nor approval, from me. I stand humbled and embarrassed before His Pure Love for all His Creation.

Thinking I just had yet another light-bulb-over-my-head moment:  Generally, I strongly dislike when some authors have repeated themselves to make a point, which proves that I should be careful who I critique, as I might just be caught doing the same:

Each of us, including me and even you, had the gift of a clean slate at 12:00 a.m. on January 1. Even this early in the game, what am I writing on my slate? To add just a tiny bit more:  Sometimes, the slate upon which we write is the heart flesh of another person.

Make it a happy new year. A better new year. A more peaceful new year. A newer new year to let go of some of the same ole temptations.

I cannot pray for blessings when I’m passing out the curses.

Wishing you Love, Tolerance, Forgiveness, and Grace. Because that’s what I would choose for myself.

~ by saginawrobin on January 2, 2014.

4 Responses to “New Year! :) Same Old Me? :(”

  1. Have you noticed that every one of these concepts has gone through a societal change of definition? God defines love, hate, tolerance, intolerance, grace, etc. When I read these words, I often wonder what the author means by them.Happily, I don’t have to wonder with God! He makes His meanings clear! Happy 2nd day of 2014!

  2. Happy 2014 to you and your family, Rilla! I love to hear from you and read your superb work, as well. God bless you, richly, in this new year. We will endeavor to pass it on, won’t we?

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a
    comment is added I get four emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks a lot!

    • I am so sorry to hear this! Thank you for taking your time to read my article, though. I do not believe I can fix that notification problem on my end. You will need to ask the Help Desk at WordPress how to change that on your end, since you initiated it.

Leave a Reply

 
